Standing Committee

The Standing Committee is responsible for the affairs of the General Synod in between General Synod sessions.


The Standing Committee membership is:

The Primate, who is also the President,
The Metropolitans of the Provinces,
The Chair of Committees of the Synod,
The elected lay and clerical Secretaries of the Synod,
Three elected diocesan Bishops,
Nine elected members of the House of Clergy, 
Nine elected members of the House of Laity,
Two appointed members of NATSIAC,
The General Secretary.

Current Membership

The current members are:

Primate:  The Most Rev’d Philip Freier


The Most Rev’d Dr Phillip Aspinall (Queensland)
The Most Rev’d Dr Glenn Davies (New South Wales)
The Rt Rev’d Allan Ewing (Acting Metropolitan of the Province of Western Australia)
The Most Rev'd Geoffrey Smith (Metropolitan of the Province of South Australia)

Chair of Committees:  Dr Ian Gibson

Clerical Secretary:  The Ven Lionel Snell

Lay Secretary:  (vacant)

House of Bishops:                  

The Rt Rev’d Andrew Curnow AM
The Rt Rev’d Dr Sarah Macneil
The Rt Rev’d Stuart Robinson

House of Clergy:                    

The Ven David Bassett
The Ven Arthur Copeman
The Rev’d Dr Andrew Ford
The Rt Rev’d Robert Forsyth
The Rt Rev’d Dr Timothy Harris
The Rev’d Canon Prof. Dorothy Lee
The Rev’d Timothy Mildenhall
The Rt Rev’d Ross Nicholson
The Rt Rev’d Dr Michael Stead

House of Laity: 

Mr Garth Blake SC
The Hon Robert Fordham AM
Ms Audrey Mills
Justice Debra Mullins
Dr Muriel Porter OAM
Dr Robert Tong AM
Ms Suzanne (Sue) West
The Hon. Peter Young AO, QC
Dr Carolyn Tan


The Ven Brian Kirk
Ms Rose Elu

General Secretary:  Ms Anne Hywood

Mr Allan Perryman, General Synod Treasurer attends meetings of Standing Committee.


Summary of Business

Rule II outlines the powers and duties of Standing Committee.  Meetings are usually held twice each year.  

February 2017

November 2016

May 2016

November 2015

May 2015

November 2014


Schedule of Meetings

Meetings dates for 2017


Committees of Standing Committee

Executive Committee of Standing Committee

Audit Committee

Investment Committee