The Commission was established by Standing Committee in October 2001.  Its focus is to integrate what the Anglican Church of Australia is considering within each of the major Dialogue Groups.

Since 2001, the Commission's work has been to assist and encourage deeper consideration of the relevant documents developed by the Anglican Roman Catholic International Commission along with those coming from Dialogues with the Uniting Church and Lutherans. The Commission has therefore developed a good framework to ensure our approach to other denominations is well integrated.


The current membership of the Ecumenical Relations Commission is:

The Most Rev'd Dr Phillip Aspinall (Brisbane) - Chair
Ms Alison Preston (Melbourne)
The Rev'd Dr Cathy Thomson (Brisbane)
The Rt Rev'd Douglas Stevens (Brisbane)
The Rev'd Dr Jane Lee-Barker (Adelaide)
The Rt Rev'd John Parkes AM (Wangaratta)
The Rev'd Canon Richard Tutin (Brisbane)
The Rt Rev'd Dr Timothy Harris (Adelaide)